Village of Kirkersville

Zoning and Planning Board Meeting Minutes

February 22, 2023

Opening: Dave Engel called the meeting to order at approximately 6:07 pm and opened with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Roll Call: Present were Terry Ashcraft, Ted Eppley, and Dave Engel. Debbie Seymour was not present.

Also present were Jack Christy and Vicki Coe.

Motion to Approve Minutes of November 30, 2022: 1st by Terry Ashcraft; 2nd by Ted Eppley. Following vote on the motion is recorded; yea, 3; nay, 0. Minutes are approved.

Board Poll: None.

Public Poll: None

Board Discussion:

Regarding updating the current zoning fees, Dave reported he consulted the Zoning Inspector and Village Solicitor. He compared fee schedules of Etna, Harrison Township, Hebron, and Granville. In those conversations, Brian Zets drew his attention to unknown expenses. Fees for engineering, legal, and advertising are billed directly. Misc expenses are hard to predict.

Items discussed and/or considered:

- Payments into FORCE account (bond) for utility, engineering, Village costs, etc; Monies not used are given back at end of contract time, like an escrow account; An addendum to cover overages; An estimate-based bond will fluctuate with the times and cover all unexpected/unknown expenses.
- PUD fees are biggest concern.
- Don't want to burden residents; Simple flat fees for residential are fine.
- Is there a need to add fees for multi-family?

• Once the new zoning book is approved, fees can be amended again to fit the particulars.

It was agreed that Jack would put together a new fee schedule per the discussion of this meeting, and present it next month.

There may need to be a special meeting to vote on interim fees for commercial and residential construction, and also, to look at the proposed new zoning book.

Motion to Adjourn: 1st by Dave Engel, 2nd by Ted Eppley. All in Favor. 7:05 pm. Meeting adjourned. Approximately 7:05 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Zoning Clerk Vicki Coe.

These minutes are unofficial until approved by the Zoning and Planning Board.

Approved by the Board this 24th of May, 2023.

Terry Ashcraft Dave Engel Ted Eppley Todd Merry